Week 1 Recap

That was one of the most bizarre weeks of CFL football that I can recall in some time.

And I’ve watched A LOT of football.

As such, on Saturday night, I just about printed out all of my season previews for the sole purpose of BURNING THEM.

But I didn’t. We’re only one game in, and there’s a lot that can happen over the course of a CFL game, let alone a season.

And in that vein, let’s have a moment of silence for the loss of Darian Durant for the season…

done

What devastating news. We wish Darian and Doug, the name I’ve randomly given to his Achilles, all the best in their recovery.

Rider fans, including the writer, are likely still in a state of disbelief this morning. Coach Chamblin swore at a reporter at the post-game news conference. And the team took a number of hits besides the season-ending injury to Durant that will create major ratio issues. The Riders’ depth is going to be tested early, and it won’t be pretty.

I think I may cry.

And I may need to write a new preview. It may be cathartic.

However, we must move forward, although I admit that my enthusiasm for this CFL season has been significantly dampened by what transpired at Mosaic Stadium on Saturday night.

I was a dismal 1-3 with my predictions this week.  Here’s a recap of the weekend’s games:
  • The RODBLACKS surprised everyone by beating Les Alouettes, although let’s be honest – the Als losing both of their QBS – namely Goldilocks Crompton and Fever LeFevour – was a boon for the RODBLACKS. The Als will need to find two QB quick. Does Tino Sunseri get a call?
  • The Kitty Cats nearly did the improbable, beating the Stumps at home. But terrible play calling in the waning minutes of the game allowed the Stumps to kick a 50 yard field goal for the win. Ugh.
  • What the…?? The Arblows absolutely LIT. UP. the Schmoes’ defence for 400+ yards of offence en route to a 26-11 win. No Name Harris threw for over 300 yards and the Schmoes lost Broke Pierce Jr. (Mike Reilly) for a significant amount of time. Major injuries to both the Schmoes’ QB and RB spell trouble.
  • I do not recall the last time I saw such a pathetic display of tackling by the Riders. The Riders made the Bumblers look like Ricky Ray and Charles Roberts in their prime. And I also swore Richie Hall was back with those 10 yard cushions the defence gave to the Bumblers’ receivers.  Major injuries to DD, as mentioned above, and starting Canadians Nic Demski and Shea Emry (both possibly 6-gamed) put the Riders in a whole heap of trouble. Watch for an airlift of QBs and more Canadian players this week.
Leave a Reply

